Hay’s Dock is the last remaining area of original dock on the Lerwick waterfront and a category B listed building. When Shetland Amenity Trust acquired the dock in the late 1990s it was in a poor state. Following the decision to locate the new Museum and Archives here, it was restored to its former glory and now provides a fitting gateway to Shetland’s Heritage Hub. For further information on the dock restoration click here.
The authentic restoration of the dock utilised many traditional, reclaimed and recycled materials. For example natural lime was used for mortars and concrete, reclaimed granite sets for the promenade, reclaimed Bressay stone slates to re-roof the pier store and reclaimed wrought iron for the wrought iron work.
Some materials reclaimed from the dock were used in other parts of the project. For example ships' timbers found when dredging Hay’s Dock have been refashioned into a unique reception desk and shop fittings. For more information on the sustainable materials used in the project click here.
Today Hay’s Dock is a lively site once more and offers a fitting home to the Museum’s floating collection. During the summer months visitors can board some of these boats, such as the recently constructed sixareen, and find out what it was like to handle these historic craft. The pier store is again used for its original purpose, storing boat gear, and is not open to the public.
The dock is also now home to art works, such as the Shetland Receivers, and the propeller from the stricken ocean liner Oceanic, lost off the island of Foula in 1914.